Q15 Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Recently, the question of whether remote education is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to receiving tertiary education on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students can benefit a great deal from distance education do so for several reasons. Propoents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way students can attend classes regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, students are capable of saving time as commuting to and from school deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent their studies.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to cotend that earning a bachelor's or a master's degree on the Internet merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that online classes prevent students from acquiring instant feedback from their professors in person, leading them to have difficulty revising for their exams. In other words, a multitude of students are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their majors, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their academic performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their classmates as well as senior students helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career. To be more specific, mingling with others at university enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of earning certificates on the Internet surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.