Q5 : It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of how to understand cultures of other places has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel overseas in order to learn about the culture, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling abroad makes it possible for people to have a deeper understanding of different cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that visiting a foreign nation allows tourists not only to communicate with locals but also mingle with them, leading travellers to acquire real knowledge about local cultures. Furthermore, some materials, such as books and films, often present biased information considering that these includes the intentions of writers or producers, hindering readers from understanding cultures precisely. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that first-hand experience is much more beneficial for learning about cultures than second-hand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that paying a visit to an overseas country is the sole way to have a tight grasp of other cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people access information regardless of time and place with greater ease. As a result, people are able to gain information about the place that they cannot visit. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage designated by UNESCO in South Korea that has various species of birds prohibited tourists from travelling that natural habitat because a multitude of travellers posed a threat to the environment. However, people can obtain information related to that area with the help of the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.