Q20. The family has a great influence on children's development, but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children's life. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of families on children's behaviour has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that parents greatly affect the development of children's personalities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that parents play a vital role in the development of children's behaviour. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that young people have a predisposition to follow their parents' behaviour considering that all children rely on their parents at the beginning of the socialisation process before receiving primary education. As a brief illustration, children with parents suffering from obesity because of undesirable eating habits, such as over-consumption of junk food, are more likely to become overweight as they often consume the same unhealthy food eaten by their father and mother. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the parents' role in the development of children's behaviour is crucial.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that only family members exert an influence on children's characteristics. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that in the fiercely competitive society, a myriad of working parents leading a hectic life due to devotion to work have difficulty spend enough time with their offspring. Thus, they communicate more frequently with their friends and teachers than their parents. As a result, youngsters often learn a multitude of behaviour patterns as well as habits from their peers and teachers. In addition, the advancement of technology makes it possible for the youth to make use of time online, meaning that adolescents who are generally incapable of distinguishing right from wrong can be exposed to huge amounts of harmful and obscene information, which can have a detrimental effect on young people's behaviour.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.