Q5 : It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of how to understand cultures has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel overseas in order to learn about cultures, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling abroad makes it possible for people to have a deeper understanding of different cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that visiting a foreign country enables for travellers not only to communicate with locals in person but also to mingle with them, leading them to have a chance to acuqire real knowledge related to local cultures. Furthermore, some materials, such as films and books, often present biased information considering that these include intentions of writers or producers, preventing readers from understanding information precisely. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that first-hand experience is much more beneficial for learning about cultures than second-hand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that paying a visit to an overseas nation is the sole way to have a tight grasp of foreign cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people gain cultural information regardless of time and place with greater ease. To be more specific, people are able to learn about cultures of other places that they cannot visit. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea has numerous endangered species of birds hidered people from travelling to that area in 2015 because a multitude of visitors took a heavy toll on the environment. However, people can obtain information about that habitat by using various methods, including the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.