Q5: It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the question of how to understand the culture of other places has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel overseas in order to learn about the culture, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling abroad makes it possible for people to have a deeper understanding of foreign cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that visiting a foreign country enables travellers not only to communicate with local residents but also to mingle with them, leading them to acquire real knowledge related to local cultures. Furthermore, some materials, including books and films, often present biased information considering that these include the intentions of writers or producers, preventing readers from understanding cultures precisely. Given these points, some people hold the view that first-hand experience is much more beneficial for leaning about cultures than second-hand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that paying a visit to a foreign nation is the sole way to have a tight grasp of different cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people can gain information about the place that they cannot visit regardless of time and place with greater ease. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea which has a multitude of endangered species of birds prohibited tourists from travelling to that habitat because an astronomical amount of waste produced by visitors posed a threat to the local environment. However, people are able to obtain information about that area owing to the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.