Q16 Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Recently, the question of whether business meetings and training sessions on the Internet is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that there are some advantages to participating in online business meetings, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that workers can benefit a great deal from attending remote meetings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way working people can communicate with their colleagues regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, employees are capable of saving time as commuting to and from work deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on devotion to work.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that holding online business meetings merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that business meetings on the Internet prevent working adults from receiving instant feedback from their co-workers in person, leading them to have difficulty concentrating on their meetings. In other words, a multitude of workers are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for working people, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their workmates as well as senior managers helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of partaking in business meetings on the Internet surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.