Q19. The family has a great influence on childen's development, but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children's life. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of families on children's behaviour has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the development of children's personalities are hugely affected by parents, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that parents play a vital role in the development of youngsters' behaviour. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that all children are inclined to rely on their parents at the beginning of the socialisation process before receiving primary education. As a brief illustration, children with parents suffering from obesity stemming from unhealthy eating habits, such as over-consumption of junk food, are more likely to become overweight given that they have a predisposition to eat the same food consumed by their parents. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the parents' role in the development of children's behaviour.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that only parents exert a huge effect on the way children act. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a myriad of working parents is incapable of spending enough time with their offspring because of devotion to work in the fiercely competitive society. Thus, youngsters learn a multitude of behaviour patterns and habits from their peers and teachers in general given that they often expend a great deal of time with their friends and teachers. Furthermore, the development of technology makes it possible for youngsters to make use of their time online, meaning that adolescents who generally are incapable of distinguishing right from wrong can be exposed to huge amounts of harmful and obscene information, having a detrimental effect on young people's personalities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.