Q16 In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of the age gap between parents and children has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to giving birth to babies at an early age, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having children as early in life as possible exerts a positive influence on families do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that younger parents are more likely to participate in leisure activities with their children, such as football and online games, making it possible for them to build strong relationships with one another. In addition, young people raising their children are easily capable of empathising with their offspring given that not only can they communicate with their children frequently, but they are also more open-minded than older parents who are generally more strict due to the larger generation gap.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of taking responsibility for becoming parents at a young age are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that younger parents often have difficulty providing their children with opportunities to receive better education that will be invaluable in their children's future careers considering that they often struggle to support their own living costs. This is mainly because most younger parents have not saved enough money since they have not worked for a long time. Another drawback is that youngsters' personalities can be negatively affected by young individuals looking after their children as the majority of younger parents are incapable of setting a good example to their children due to a lack of life experience. This can even lead their children to become immature or selfish. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of the narrow age gap between parents and children surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.