In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, due to the fast-pace development of the civilization, it has led to many problems ranging from technology to social concerns. However, the age gap between parents and their children seems to be one of the most worrying issues which influences the bonds on families as it has become gradually wider as time goes by. Although the emergence of this phenomenon is beneficial for members in families, I personally believe that its downsides are much concerning.

For a variety of reasons, the disadvantageous aspects tend to come from mothers giving birth late. This would place negative impacts on mothers’ health during the period of having pregnancy as the human body is biologically programmed to deteriorate over time resulting in their organs to be less functional than they used to be earlier. To be specific, during the process of delivering a baby, it requires the mothers a great force of strength to push the baby out of the uterus. Therefore, it seems to be life-threatening for the mothers as they tend to be feeble leading to a high mortality rate. The second drawback is that it would be dreadful for the newborns. Biologically, since the fetus absorbs nutritional substances from the mothers’ body, however, when their parents’ reproductive cells become less effective due to aging, the fetal development will be impacted as it is not fully supplied with a sufficient amount of nutrition values from their mothers. As a consequence, the construction of the babies’ immune system would be ineffective resulting in being more prone to common ailments and mental impairment.

Having said that, looking from a social perspective, the disparity between generations in a family can still be advantageous to a certain extent. The first upside is that giving birth at an old age offers a more stable financial condition which will be an upper hand for parents as well as their children later in life. This is because people who want to achieve financial independence would spend their youth laboring around to work industriously to be well-prepared for future stages. Consequently, this stability will provide their children with better living conditions along with more chances to get access to quality education and healthcare which assist them in having more occupational opportunities when seeking for jobs. Admittedly, in spite of having such a stable financial situation might be fruitful, not every family are wealthy enough to nurture a child since parents as they were young, they may not have any motivation to move forwards. As a result, if they are not financially stable as they get old, it will exacerbate the situation when having a baby since raising a child demands various large expenses while there are much more crucial aspects for their parents to pay attention to.

Taking everything into consideration, the multidimensional perspective as examined in this essay has consolidated my argument that even though this age gap can bring children better living standards thanks to the achievements of their parents, threats on the survival of the mothers as well as the development of the infants are much more noticeable.