In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to the issue of generation gap, there exists conflicting opinions. Many people believe that the difference in age between parents and children is beneficial to both ages; while others hold the claim that there are many disadvantages of this problem. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this matter before giving my opinion.

On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of the generation gap. When parents are much older than their children, they can guarantee a stable life. In other words, in recent years, couples have a tendency to get married late because they want to have a stable job and earn a good living before having a child. This means, when a child is born, the couple will have no need to worry about financial problems; hence, the child is able to get the best education and healthcare services. Take China as an illustration. Reportedly, most children whose parents are much older are recorded to obtain the greatest education and healthcare systems in comparison to those whose parents are young couples. This example strongly suggests the connection between the standard of living and the difference in age between parents and children.

However, the above-mentioned advantage is overshadowed by the following disadvantage. The biggest drawback of this issue is that the generation gap plays a vital role in struggles between parents and children. To be more specific, if parents are many times older than their children, there will be many differences between hobbies, opinions and ways of living. As a result, neither parents cannot fully understand their children nor do the kids. This leads to wars between parents and children and worsens their relationship. Japan serves as a perfect example. A study in 2015 in a district in this country showed that the rate of teenagers leaving home had doubled as they could not share common opinions between their old parents. This directly suggests that the generation gap is crucial to parents – children arguments .

In conclusion, the difference in age between parents and children have both benefits and drawbacks. Nevertheless, I believe that the disadvantage of the generation gap issue overshadows its advantage.