Q3 : Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend do you agree with this statement.

Recently, the issue of living abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that moving to a country where a foreign language is spoken can result in practical and social probelms, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that dwelling overseas and speaking in a second language cause problems for individuals. Perhaps an obvious practical problem is that those who are not proficient in a language other than their mother tongue often have difficulty dealing with their small daily tasks, such as buying food and doctor's appointments, which can cause them experiencing high levels of stress. Another social problem is that the language barrier prevents speakers of different languages from connecting with each other, leading to misunderstandings. This can even lead to cultural conflicts, exerting a detrimental influence on society.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that residing abroad merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that people who are passionate about acquiring a second language are more likely to have a tight grasp of it as they are always being exposed to an environment where they have to communicate with foreigners. In addition, mingling with people from different backgrounds allows individuals to have a deeper understanding of different cultures, which will be invaluable in their future career given that the majority of multinational corporations have a predisposition to hire employees who are open to cultural diversity since their business revolves around global trade. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.