Q1 Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces into residential areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities near the central area of the city by residential buildings in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly amenities close to the city centre so as to erect apartment blocks do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks near the city centre makes it possible for a multitude of employees to take a rest during their lunchtime. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for green places for workers, they would have difficulty alleviating the level of stress, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute a myriad of skyscrapers accommodating citizens for green areas near the central business district. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if numerous working people residing close to the CBD travel to the workplace by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion, leading the masses to have an improved standard of living. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease. Moreover, depriving employees of less time dedicated to commuting to work often allows them to concentrate more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying parks and gardens near the city centre and erecting housing estates are necessary for the reasons discussed above.