Q4 Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Recently, the issue of living abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that residing in a nation where a foreign language is spoken can result in practical and social issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that dwelling overseas causes problems for individuals. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that being forced to speak in a language other than one's mother tongue makes it difficult for people to deal with their small daily tasks, such as doctor's appointments, leading them to experience high levels of stress. In addition, the language barrier often prevents people from connecting with speakers of a different language, which can give rise to misunderstandings and cultural friction.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that living in an overseas country merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that being exposed to foreigners enables people to have a chance to ameliorate foreign language skills, which will be invaluable in their future careers. To be specific, they are more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities with greater ease in a job market given that the majority of global companies have a predisposition to hire multilingual job seekers in the era of globalisation. Furthermore, mingling with locals helps people to have a deeper understanding of cultural diversity. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.