Q5. In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving current public transport should take precedence over building a new railway system for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from establishing new railway lines for bullet trains do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that bullet trains could facilitate the nationwide transport of passengers and goods. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are able to be delivered quickly. In addition, the advent of bullet train lines can contribute to a boom in domestic tourism, which invigorates economic growth.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of developing local and existing public transport are more significant. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current public transport plays a vital role in individuals' daily life considering that a myriad of citizens are using it on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work or studies. Thus, ameliorating existing public transport systems makes it possible for the masses to have an improved standard of living. Furthermore, an astronomical sum of money is required to set up facilities related to bullet trains, compared to enhancing current public transport, which places a heavy financial burden on the governments. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of money allocated to erect bullet train systems is predicted three times higher than updating current public transport. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that reforming existing public transport should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.