Q5: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving current public transport should take precedence over establishing new railway lines for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from erecting new bullet train lines do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that railway systems for bullet trains could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and people. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are able to be delivered quickly. In addition, the advent of new railway lines for bullet trains can lead to a boom in domestic tourism, which can stimulate economic growth.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of ameliorating existing public transport systems are more crucial. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that local public transport plays a vital role in individuals’ daily life considering that a myriad of citizens make use of it on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work. Thus, upgrading current public transport enables the masses to have an improved standard of living. Furthermore, an astronomical sum of money is required to build bullet train lines, which places a heavy financial burden on the public. As an illustration, according to a study conducted by the government of China, the amount of money dedicated to setting up bullet train systems is predicted 5 times higher than reforming current public transport. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that enhancing existing public transport should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.