The qualities a person needs to become truly successful cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is widely perceived that an individual could achieve a fruitful career without going through any forms of education. Personally, I thoroughly disagree with this position.

There are numerous reasons why enrolling in university could contribute to learners’ success, one of which is a range of soft and hard skills it provides. Should students be required to finish group assignments such as presentations, they will have to organize their learning sections more properly as well as learn to work with friends to achieve decent academic results. This would therefore facilitate their time management and cooperative skills, which might contribute to their prospects of success. Another justification for positive impacts of tertiary education is the professional equivalent for various working fields. That those qualifications remain a prerequisite for occupations including doctors, lawyers or teachers is undeniable. These types of jobs are highly-required in a sound foundation of knowledge, thereby owning a third-level degree could enhance students’ employability.

The demerits of the overlook of post-secondary education, however, are indisputable. First and foremost, social relations is what a non-graduate is most likely to lack. Students entering universities could promote their future partnership through their colleges, teachers or lecturers. Meanwhile, the circle of friends of individuals quitting higher education seems to be limited, which would in turn create an obstacle to further promotion in their career paths. It should also be noted that the graduate would deal with the dearth of expertise. When they are not well-experienced enough to pursue their ideal occupations, they could be wrongly oriented towards unsound directions and vague plans, which leaves a lower chance for them to flourish at work later.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that tertiary education plays a vital role in students’ prosperity.