Some people think that the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held belief that higher education fails to equip its graduates with attributes that would drive them towards success in the modern world. I am strongly convinced that while attending academic institutions is one gateway to future success, exposure to real-life situations should play a complementary role.

On the one hand, I accept that higher education can offer a favorable environment for valuable qualities to be developed. It is an irrefutable fact that students upon enrolling in university courses are likely provided with ample opportunities to expand their expertise in a particular area of interest. In a competitive world of job, a degree anchored in a specific field might be indicative of a candidate’s academic competency and job potential, thus making the applicants more marketable in the eye of the recruiters. Also, a stockpile of transferable skills necessary for future occupations can be built within higher education settings. Regular group projects or participation in case studies, for instance, can help prospective graduates hone their teamwork and critical thinking skills, which are considered essentials for future jobs.

On the other hand, I also believe that university qualifications alone are not sufficient in raising one’s chances of career prospects. First of all, individuals are more likely to be successful when they know how to apply their knowledge in authentic contexts. While theoretical underpinnings play a central role, it is of paramount importance that they be accompanied by practice. In addition, by engaging in real-world challenges, graduates are offered a golden opportunity to cultivate a repertoire of skills that they may not be able to harness while attending school. Skills including but not limited to communication, problem-solving, discernment and creativity acquired from real working environments may act as instrumental factors in determining one’s ability to climb the corporate ladder in the future.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that a combination of higher education and exposure to real-life tasks is pivotal to develop qualities that are deemed essential for professional excellence.