Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a widely established phenomenon that youngsters are increasingly inclined to splurge on clothing to keep themselves abreast of latest fashion trends. From my perspective, this trend has mostly negative consequences.

First and foremost, young people’s growing expenditure on fashion might act as a driving factor in stimulating overconsumption. Fashionable clothing, in most cases, often available to the public at a prohibitive cost, which may not fit the budget of the average folks. Obsession with the desire to possess a piece of designer clothing in order to appear in fashion might subsequently tempt young people into maxing out their credit cards at the expense of their daily living expenses. As a consequence, allocating a disproportionate amount of money for the sake of fashion and fashion indulgence might drive young people into losing control over their financial capabilities, and likely getting them involved in countless financial difficulties.

Another noteworthy issue caused by the given trend is that it relays a wrong message of materialism among the youth. As more and more of their counterparts are putting on luxurious and trendy clothes, the young might be under the impression that up-to-date is now institutionalized. Feeling a sense of urgency to be socially accepted by their peers, it is likely that young people would do whatever they deem necessary to conform to this newly formed norm. In the long term, this type of behavior might might condone the false idea that a person’s value should not be measured by his or her true personality, but rather by materialistic possessions.

To conclude, the youth’s tendency to keep up with fashion trends will mostly have detrimental effects on their financial stability as well as their perceptions of individual worth.