As a part of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held belief that students should study abroad for the purpose of language acquisition and multi-cultural knowledge. I strongly agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

From a professional standpoint, overseas education might be perceived as a much-need boost in employability. In an increasingly globalized world, recruiters, particularly those of multinational corporations, are looking for candidates with outstanding communication skills relevant to foreign languages. Therefore, the evidence of individuals exhibiting the ability to establish a linguistically smooth and culturally appropriate conversation with a foreign partner is likely to raise their stock as potential candidates. This edge over other applicants is hoped to translate into more promising job opportunities with higher salaries and other relevant benefits and in the future.

From a social perspective, spending time in a foreign country plays a pivotal role in widening one’s horizons. For instance, by transferring to a different country for a semester, students are likely to acquire a deeper understanding of the new language as well as etiquettes embedded in the culture of the host country. In an age of of dizzying cross-cultural contacts, this is obviously a critical attribute that young adults should possess. In this regard, exposure to a new culture is a prerequisite for the development of a multicultural perspective which will render young people more understanding and respectful towards those coming from different backgrounds.

To conclude, I hold a firm belief in the idea of studying abroad for the sake of linguistic and cultural acquisition. In the long run, a temporary stay in another country might benefit young people both in career and social terms.