TASK 2: As parts of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is supposed by people that it is important for every student to absorb language-and-culture-related knowledge of other nations by living in there for a short time. While I advocate the importance of this activity for those who major in Language, Literature, or Cultural Exchange, I do not think that students in other majors such as Science or Chemistry need to spend time on this factor.

Due to the differences among students’ preferences, these people would choose different subjects to follow, which does not require to research profoundly about other nations’ culture and language. More importantly, if they still spend time studying and discovering about this stuff, these students are not able to concentrate on their professional majors. For instance, instead of investing a year to go abroad to study Chinese and its custom, a friend of mine could take advantage of this time to invent a chemical formula which he is passionate about.

However, experiencing a year in foreign countries is necessary for students specializing in Language, literature, and other related subjects. Firstly, living with indigenous people allows those students to boost the productivity of learning a language because of having a chance to expose to native speakers. Moreover, communicating with all foreign citizens for a period of time encourages learners to think and produce sentences as them, which facilitates people’s studying process. Furthermore, in terms of culture, instead of learning through books or materials on the Internet, students in these majors could witness the uniqueness and habits of a certain nation by their own vision, not others’ perspectives. As a result, the understanding of those students would be different from those who only research based on theories or obsolete documents in their home countries.

In conclusion, while I disagree that students in all majors need to throw a period of time for this experience, it is undeniable that this activity plays a vitally important role in students who research in Language and literature.