As parts of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals say that in order to learn a specific language and culture of a country, students are recommended to spend several years studying overseas to gain insight. In my opinion, it is a good, yet not the most optimal choice for young people to meet such an expectation in learning.

On the one hand, although studying abroad is a benefit for learners to acquire knowledge in other countries, such movement may cause some difficulties when putting into action. Financial problem, which involves both accomodation and cost of living, is a big barrier considering going abroad. The cost of living in some developed country has to be taken into further consideration as fundamental demands also cost a lot. Additionally, culture shock could be a potential problem for every students when learning in different environments. It could fairly takes a long time for an individual to adapt for a new environment. As a result, young people without preseverance may giving up before they could actually achieve their goals.

On the other hand, students could still able to learn various language and cultures without having to go abroad. Firstly, the fast-growing development of the Internet as well as technology gives young people an easy access to learn from anywhere with any languages they could think of. Duolingo is an example as this application help foreigners study a new languege other than their mother tongue. In addition, people could have a chance to ask for travellers around the globe in their place about the difference between cultures. This is often the case of Vietnamese students as they are taught to speak English with native speakers whenever it is possible. As a result, pupils don’t necessarily have to living abroad to gain such knowledge.

In conclusion, with some barriers regarding financial issues and culture shock, I believe that students don’t necessarily have to studying abroad to learn new languages and cultures as it could easily be acquired right in their hometown thanks to the Internet and travellers around the globe.