Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development

there is a growing concern about the phenomenon that more and more youngsters are jumping on the fashion trend bandwagon without taking their time and money expenditures into consideration. From my perspective, this tendency bears both merits and demerits due to the following reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that following the trend can bring certain advantages to the youth on the whole. first and foremost, fashion is widely considered as a mean of self-expression since people’s style is the best reflection of their characteristics. this appear to be crucial to the young, especially gen Z, who always crave for expressing their ideas and personalities in order to bring positive influence on every aspect of their lives. Moreover, many individuals find themselves more confident by dressing in vogue. this confidence would make a great contribution to not only their career but also their everyday relationships owing to the fact that they are able to make a strong impression on employers, colleagues and friends. another plus point of staying up-to-date with the latest trend is that it would have a significant impact on the growth of the fashion industry in the long run. The more people purchase, the stronger the development of the country’s economy is.

Although leading the trend has many benefits, there still exist some noteworthy drawbacks. The first minus point that comes to our mind is that a variety of youngsters indulge in the fashion trend without considering about its application to their styles. As a consequence, they end up squandering time and money on unnecessary items that they never wear twice. Secondly, the price of some items are sometimes out of their affordability, this can drive some to the edge of bankruptcy or even committing a crime so as to have the ability to own these high-end products. another reason which is worth noting is that idling too much time shopping would have a detrimental effect on the young’s work and study. As little time is spent on learning, students may get low marks, fail to pass their exams or even fall behind other peers. Furthermore, youngsters’ eagerness to be in contact with the latest trend may bring them down if they are unable to stay on track, as a result, they may have to suffer from poor mental condition in the long term.

All in all it is my belief that spending time and money to live in vogue have both positive and negative impacts on the young.