In some countries, more and more adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A heated debate has been aroused these days about whether it is beneficial for graduates to keep staying under the same roof with their parents or not. From my personal standpoint, I would adhere that the merits of this tendency would eclipsed it demerits.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that finance will be no longer a burden to youngsters given their continuing residing with parents. In this era of price escalation, the cost of living alone would be a major hurdle for fresh graduates and novice workers, whose incomes are unstable and little in comparison with the enormous amount of monthly expenditures on house price, utility bills, necessity costs, to name a few. Besides, by living under the same roof, not only parents and children are given the opportunity to strengthen the bonds between them, but parents also have the chance to hands down invaluable experience to their coming-of-age offsprings, which would give them a considerable assistance when having to deal with multifaceted adult life. In a recent research, scientists has figured out that those living together with their family up to the age of 30 will have more achievements in life compared to those who do not.

On the other hand, it is worth mentioned that there are still existed drawbacks in view of this tendency. We are all acknowledged that offsprings, if being overprotective, will be reliant on their parents in every aspects of their lives. These dependent and pampered grownups will be deficient in autonomy and self-sufficiency, which make them fall behind with their counterparts. In the long run, once they are no longer being taken under their parents’ wings, they will easily fall victim to social misconducts and be devastated in this complicated world.

All in all, despite the aforementioned disadvantages of this trend, I still hold the belief that the benefits of graduates not flying out of their nest would overshadow its negative side.