Some people feel that the government should regulate the level of violence in films on television and at the cinema. Others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a heated debate in this day and age considering whether brutality in movies should be placed under strict regulation of authorities or it is filmmakers and viewers’ freedom to be fully access to these scenes. From my personal standpoint, notwithstanding the fact that both advocates has their own reasons, I would take side with the former.

On the one hand, it is content that the incorporation of violence in movies is the driving force behind the growth of crime rates and misconducts in modern society. To be more specific, the young, as the main viewers, whose cognitions and manners are not fully-developed, may consider these behaviours as the norm and start imitating actions conducted in the movies. That is to say, without government’s proper regulations, more and more inappropriate behaviours may be carried out on a large scale which would sabotage society’s moral standards in the long run.

On the one hand, some people hold the belief that bloodshed scenes play an indispensable role as the main attracting feature in horror and action films. First and foremost, these thrill scenes not only draw public’s attention to the movies but also make a great contribution to the increase of profits for the film producer. Secondly, it is undeniable that a majority of people favouring these types of movie both as an effective stress relief and a superb method to escape from their boring lifestyle. A viewer once told a magazine that she addicted to the excitement and fluttering effects that is aroused by watching bloodshed scenes while others reported to experienced an upbeat mood after watching these scenarios.

In the nutshell, I would content with the idea that hostile scenes should not be put under the control of any governments, it is the mass public’s choice whether they want to watch these contents or not.