Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's world, there are numerous options person has to keep himself/herself occupied. reading books and watching television are few of them. it depends what kind of taste one has.

book reading is one of the favourite hobby from older times when tv and other online stuff was not easily available. People of older generation were quite addicted to book reading as it was one of the good source of gaining information of any type. there are many authors who made big name in the writing industry due to this. Humans of all ages generally like reading books as it is of the early things they get access to when they are in school. it makes one's mind active as by reading they gain knowledge and expand their horizons.

Whereas, on the other hand, watching television or movies is now gaining more popularity due to digitalization world. due to rise in internet popularity and easy accessibility there are high percentage of population who is getting addicted to it.

In my view, by watching tv or movies, one gets into imagination rather than reading books as the visuals which they see in front of their eyes, most of them directly correlate to them and can easily start imagining himself or herself. one of the recent example is where most of the new movie heros are into body building and displaying their bodies on the big screen due to which the young generation have start following the same trend because they start imaging themself in those physiques.

So, in a nutshell by watching tv one gets more imagination rather than reading books.