Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

To maintain human brain more active, there are several typical activities to do such as reading books or watching TV. Some say that reading books has several benefits to human brain in contrast with watching films which only decrease the use of imagination. I completely agree with this statement.

For over centuries, books have been considered as the main source of information to challenge one's mind. Firstly, by reading novels written by famous compelling writers, such as William Shakespeare, we can imagine the appearance of the patronages quite differently. For example, Romeo and Giulietta, the couple are well-known for their bravery actions to achieve common goals, are well-written in book; therefore, numerous readers around the world enjoy this book. On the other hand, most film producers have depicted these personages and the plot several times, and many people, hence, can consume them in a couple of hours. However, after watching it they are reluctant to read books in order to imagine it themselves. If they do so regularly, there is an evidence that imagination is barely developed in their brain activity.

In addition, some scientists suggest that imagination is the key to the improvement of memory. Many adults have a tendency to read various types of books, such as fairytales in order that retell it to others, especially younger generation in a more interesting way, and they primarily rely on their imagination to do so. Nevertheless, while they are watching movies, this skill is hardly used, and as a result, retelling might not be neatly as expected.

In conclusion, although television and films often stimulate to obtain information in a short time, it is less likely to benefit to the increase of imagination, which can be only developed by reading books. In my opinion, reading is a more active process that exercises the mind, encourages a stronger sense of imagination.