Reasons why smoking should be banned in public places

In today’s world, cigarettes use has been depleted considerably thanks to legal restriction by government. However, in my viewpoint, this item should be completely prohibited for several reasons as follows.

Smoking is obviously a threat to people’s health, especially the lungs. Though cigarettes have been legitimated as trading items, their negative influence on well-being is undeniable due to their toxic compounds. What must be mentioned here is that they do not only affect the smokers but also the people around, the process of which is called passive inhalation, too. When one smokes, the public may involuntarily take in those health-damaging substances, which leads to an unfair situation that both the smokers and the people around may have to suffer from the poisons though the public do not commit such bad behavior.

Another striking reason why the ban should be imposed on smoking is that its addictiveness. Besides health-related problems, smokers who have been addicted to cigarettes may waste time using that product, which takes up a lot of time which can be spent on more precious and deserved aspects of life like studying, working, exercising, etc. Consequently, their quality of life drops and they may be demotivated by such poor life. Thus, the smokers’ personal life as well as other people’s, especially their beloved or close ones’, may be negatively affected. This in turn causes the society to exacerbate.

All in all, smoking should not be allowed any longer for some reasons such as its detrimental impact on people’s health and society in general. It is high time nations and citizens took an action as much and soon as possible to curb the consumption of cigarettes for humans’ own good.