Recent research has shown that business meetings and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is highly probable that technology has gained significant ubiquity in this digitally integrated world. Courtesy of the advancement and development of technological gadgets, conferences, and meetings has become digitalized at a faster pace. While it is undeniable that several problems are lurking beneath this norm, I am in favor of the view that the beneficial facets have eclipsed the negative downsides of this notion, which will be further elucidated in this essay.

From the outset, conducting meetings or training online might hold a host of difficulties. First of all, the instability of the Internet connection might affect the flow of business seminars or discussions. There may be disruptions during conference calls by virtue of the participants’ connectivity issues or the dysfunction of microphones at times. This could potentially become an annoyance for others and mislead the flow of the meeting as they may have to propose Internet-fixing solutions for their counterparts. Another problem worth mentioning is the low level of being technologically savvy of some people. Those individuals could be the senior or older managers of the company who might not get used to digital-based calls or meetings. In addition, learning how to fully utilize those technological inventions could be time-consuming and stressful if they are not cut out for them in the first place.

On the other hand, looking from a broader view, several positive outlooks can be sighted for this phenomenon. First and foremost, integrating technology at workplaces, especially during the Covid-19 epidemic, could reduce the cost of travel to some extends. It is true that if there were no such conferencing applications like Zoom or Microsoft Teams, businesspeople or individuals of the national authority would have to spend a large amount of money on flights or other means of transportation. Prominent examples of these can be many important meetings having been made online, which may pay dividends for the national budget as more money could be spent on making vaccines or facilitate people in need. Furthermore, this notion can precipitate working from home and decrease the prevalence of furloughed stages of some persons. This can be beneficial as workers could manage their time more flexibly with emails and planning-centric applications, as well as companies will be able to retain employees.

In conclusion, notwithstanding issues such as possible distractions during online discussions, technological integration in the sphere of business may be a great help in cutting costs as well as maintaining the work-life balance of employees. All things considered, it could be predicted that technology will continue to grow immensely in the future.