What are the pros and cons of using public transport?

In recent times, transportation has become an indispensable part of humanity. Following that notion, society has witnessed an exponential increase in the ubiquity of using public vehicles courtesy of the high demand for commuting. Using this means of transport can be undoubtedly beneficial; however, there are possibly several downsides lurking beneath this norm. In this essay, both sides of the argument will be elucidated before drawing any further conclusion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that commuting on public transports like buses may have less security, especially when comparing with that of owning a private car. One prominent justification for this is the numerous articles reporting bus commuters being robbed as a result of not having any proper security guards on those public facilities. Not only public-transport goers may be put in a greater chance of having their belongings stolen but the minor may also face a possibility of sexual assaults, especially when buses are densely populated with commuters rushing in during peak hours. This also leads to another major worth-mentioning drawback, which is a longer commuting time. It is of great prevalence to see people getting late to their destination due to the late departure time.

On the other hand, public transport can also possess a range of advantages, one of which is helping to mitigate pollution. Notwithstanding this may not be the panacea for all the environmental problems, if people use more public transport, it can help decrease the amount of carbon dioxide emissions from cars. Moreover, as bus tickets are reasonably priced, people can be more economical and feel less of a financial burden when choosing this form of vehicle. Last but not least, as more people are using public transport, the career prospects for those in a furlough situation are high, therefore providing jobs for the unemployed and partly solving the unemployment problems.

To recapitulate, taking buses as the main medium of commuting can both be disadvantageous and beneficial. Although it can have problems like robbery or sexual assaults and is slower than most other types of wheeled transportation, public transport can help cultivate the environment and be more economical. All things considered, I firmly believe that the benefits of public vehicles outweigh the drawbacks it brings.