In recent years there has been an increase in bad behavior, poor discipline and antisocial behavior in schools. Tough measures and stricter punishments by schools, parents and others are necessary to stop this trend.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of stricter discipline for young people?

Recently, concern has grown that schoolchildren's behavior and discipline are deteriorating. It is suggested that educators, parents and others implement more stringent regulations and penalties to eliminate this issue. While rigid discipline may serve as a deterrent to juvenile wrongdoers, it can lead to more disruptive behavior and offenses in some cases.

Enhanced discipline and harsher punishments can be an effective prevention to some ill-mannered and disobeyed children. Many young kids only misbehave when they believe they will not face any consequences. However, when children are aware that strict consequences await their misbehavior, they are more likely to refrain from inappropriate actions. For example, many students in Vietnamese schools brought their smartphones to class and used them despite their teachers’ complaints largely because the schools lack relevant regulations. However, after strict no-cell phone regulations were introduced, including the permanent confiscation of phones, almost no students bring their phones to school now.

Nonetheless, this approach can have adverse effects on children’s development as children's education is not simply the matter of tougher measures and punishments. Only focusing on disciplining children for their misbehavior without understanding the root causes can make them upset and trigger their resentment. Factors such as frequent exposure to violence, low socioeconomic status and an unstable upbringing are primarily contributing to rebellious and antisocial behavior and juvenile delinquency. In these special cases, punishments appear to be valueless and even deteriorate the situation since what they truly need is adults’ care, understanding and more healthy living conditions, not more pressure.

In conclusion, although more stringent rules and punishments can deter adolescents from misbehaving and offending, this practice alone cannot completely solve the situation but even worsen it. Therefore, schools, parents and others should analyze the culprits to apply the most effective measures.