Recently, genetically modified food has become a new solution to agriculture productivity. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In recent years, the term “genetically modified food” has become a controversial topic as its benefits for both food producers and consumers are companied by potential biomedical risks and environmental side effects. In my opinion, the consequences people may suffer from this kind of food can overshadow its merits.

On one hand, it is understandable that genetically modified food is crucial to the food supply, especially in the stage of climate change. In particular, farmers may produce more and earn more profits on each crop they harvest thanks to the new strains of plants which can boost the productivity, combat against some common diseases, and adapt well to the changes of the environment. For example, in the southern areas of Vietnam where the lands are facing salt intrusion, many agricultural scientists have developed a rice variety that can withstand saltwater without reducing the amount of output. Therefore, regions considered as a granary of the world could maintain the growth rate in order to contribute to global food security.

However, there are demerits that could not be ignored as it directly affects humans’ health and the environment. First of all, there are pieces of evidence linking the symptoms of food allergies in not only young children to the period of time their parents have been exposed to the genetically modified food before giving birth but also the adults who consume this food regularly. This is partly because the mutated genes cause some unexpected reaction in the human body that does not naturally trigger if they are the original ones. Secondly, the whole ecosystem could be damaged since there are some unintentionally hybridized species may evolve and invade the living areas of the local flora. These species, to some extents, are the result of cross-breeding between genetically modified plants and others in nature. Finally, there are ideas raising awareness of a tiny possibility that humans genes could be changed, leading to abnormal behaviors as well as congenital malformation.

In conclusion, although the genetically modified food brings a number of benefits to humans, it is still the culprit of some diseases and reckoned to be relevant to the extinction of several species resulting in the imbalance of the ecosystem.