Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Research studies show that our biological traits have more influence on our personality and development than our social life experiences. This essay suggests that a persons social life experiences has more of a major influence on his or her behaviour and development.

Our environment is influenced by different factors. Innate characteristics is a part that can dictate our behaviour and the way we develop but this cannot be compared to the overwhelming influences social experiences can exact on an individuals personality. In other words, from an early age people are taught by various institutions in the society, the rights and wrongs in the life. Thus, based on this moral knowledge learnt by an individual, this will invariably have an impact on how their personality and development are shape now and in the future.

In addition, the social experiences and environment an individual encounters will have an effect on their personality and how they develop. For example, a person who lives in an aggressive and violent home from childhood has a 90% chance of getting involved in criminal acts, according to the 2020 Nigerian Social Service Commission Report. Consequently, when individual experiences a negative environment, there is a likelihood they develop bad behaviours and engage in cowardly acts in the society.

In conclusion, social life experiences with regards to what is learnt and percieved by an individual play a major part in shaping their personality and development. Biological characteristics however, have a mimimal influence on the personality and how a person develops in the society.