Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

People have different views about whether or not it is mandatory for higher institutions to equip graduates with relevant skillsets required in the work domain. Although, some argue that the responsibility of a university is just to give graduates an opportunity to gain knowledge in their various courses, I put forward that it is indeed pertinent for universities to train individuals with knowledge that will be useful in a job.

A major advantage is that it would prepare graduates for day to day activities in a prospective workplace and an increase in employability prospects. With background skills and knowledge, graduates will be more mentally and physically ready to contribute effectively in a work environment. Thus, this will eliminate fear and increase their confidence level, not only when applying for a job vacancy but in handling daily objectives in a workplace. For instance, according to a 2019 report from the Nigerian Job Employers Association (J.E.A), 90% of labour employers give jobs to individuals who have experience and the relevant knowledge and skillset relating to a particular job, as they believe these individuals will be able to fit in more easily to their expectations. Hence the need for higher institutions to get graduates in line with the skills required in a work domain.

Others, on the other hand, argue that the mere focus for universities is an opportunity for graduates to get skills and knowledge, for reasons such that universities are simply following the principles of the curricula that they are used to from time immemorial. Most university professors adhere to teaching these curriculum objectives which entails strictly the subject area knowledge and not diverse skillsfor a workplace.

In my view, even though, some people opine that the only objective for universities is to provide knowledge for graduates, i submit that it is imperative for universities to teach graduates the necessary skills and knowledge that will be required in a work environment as it will help them get ready mentally and physically in their day to day office task and challenges and a higher chance in getting job employment. Thus, this undoubtably should be the key objective of any university.