Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have on our life.Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Since the birth of psychology science, many scientists have argued about the origin of human personality and whether it is due genes or environment. Genetics has been found by science to be the main cause of who we are. From my point of view, although I am sure that genetics contributes considerably to the formation of our personalities, human experience is probably the main cause.

In fact, I think that when people are born, they come to life as a white page with just a little introduction at the beginning. What is already written is the codification of our genes and their following information concerning of who we will become. Is is undoubted that many research conducted on children and adults have shown a particular link with genetic heritage and aspects of our behaviour. For example, people with specific genes may be associated with an extrovert attitude while others with different genes to the actually oppose one. However, despite the powerful of genetics, this type of studies is not a simple task and we are far away from secure answers. Hence, as what has been discovered for now, I believe that environment is probably the most factor of influence.

Indeed, social background such as families, hometown and friends are not negligible factors. It is true that genes are written in the white page but there is also a huge space to fill which can modify things. Just considering the experiences and challenges that a human being has to face up during is entire life, we are far from the only genetics point of view. On the one hand, persons are unique and DNA is an expression of this, but situations in life lead people to experiment a enormous variety of feelings. Evidently, hanger, fear, happiness and many other emotions form us and there is no pre-factor that can avoid it.

To conclude, the complexity DNA gives us all the beautiful and particular features that build us but I strongly believe that what surrounds us has the largest effectiveness on how we behave and conduct our lives.