Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, we are living in a difficult world proved by a huge number of crimes and injustices. The causes of this are not simple to identify and depend on a variety of factors. However, a analysis on certain types of criminal activity can help to find the solutions. In my opinion, some crimes are a response to a social dramatic background and laws provided by the government may improve the situation. However, some brutal murders and abuses are not understandable by anyone who shows humanity and for this I am afraid that no improvement can be done.

As concerned to the causes, poverty is well known to be one of them. It is evident from newspapers that a large amount of thefts, assaults and in some cases murders are associated with the part of society which suffer the most dramatic economic condition. When people are without nothing and ignore the existence of good because they had never received care in their lives, they are much exposed to do whatever is needed to survive. Hence, I think that, if the government proposed laws provided to create less social differences and discrimination, a large benefit would be felt by all and probably certain crimes will decrease their rate. However, I know also that is not a simple task for the government but a great responsibility is of our politicians. They are the only ones who can do something.

I contrast, I believe that there are some bad actions that has no explanation. These are done by people who are intrinsically evil and no help for them is possible in some cases. People who have brutally murdered and not regret their behaviour are not possible to re-educate in prison, in this case there is no possibility to avoid this type of crime.

To conclude, in order to prevent the growth in number of criminals politicians have to take the responsibility, providing laws which care on some social issues responsible of some crimes. However, there are some unfortunate cases of pure evil in which nobody can do something and these are not avoidable.