Research says more and more business training and business meeting taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the technology-driven world, individuals and companies tend to use computers and the Internet on a daily basis. According to research, there are an increasing number of companies using online meetings and online courses to negotiate their company’s plans and train their new staffs. This essay will discuss the advantages of providing online activities in companies and the drawbacks.

On the one hand, by offering such online activities, companies benefit from saving their cost and making involved employees flexible. Companies do not need to arrange accommodation and conference room for employees who have to travel from another subsidiary company; therefore, companies can reduce costs by providing these activities online. Besides, employees can even take part in online meetings and classes at home. Therefore, companies can save money from providing these online activities and employee’s timetable expects to be more flexible.

However, a raising problem that a company has to deal with is that how it can use such activities at an international level. Employees from overseas may face difficulties to attend online meeting because of time zone. For instance, a UK employee is not able to attend an online meeting held in the morning in China because the time difference between China and UK is 8 hours. Employee would be exhausted if his or her company required him or her to participate in this online meeting; therefore, his or her work efficiency would reduce because of lack of sleep. In short, time zone can be a significant disadvantage of using the Internet to train new workers and meet employees at an international scale.

In conclusion, the pros of online conferencing and online training programs do outweigh its cons.