Research shows that overeating can be as harmful as smoking. Thus the advertising of certain food products should be banned, as that of cigar is banned in many countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that eating too much and smoking have detrimental effects on health. In many nations, the governments have banned cigar advertisements, some people suggest certain food advertising should be forbidden as well. In this essay, I will outline why I disagree with this to some extent.

I concede that there could be reasons why banning some particular food ads and perhaps the obvious one is that those products are may well ignored by consumers. By prohibiting the advertising of processed meals that contain high levels of sugar and fat, the countries can enable citizens to have less access to unhealthy food and this potentially leads to people making nutritious options and increasing the likelihood of them staying healthy. For example, Binglang, traditional snacks having some ingredients which are harmful to eye sights, their advertisements have been banned for several years, meaning that the majority of people have no idea about the snacks, and arguably prevents them from eating unhealthy.

Nevertheless, I feel that it is not necessary to forbid the advertising of certain food for two main reasons. Firstly, food ads do not typically result in overeating and other problems. When the governments ban these ads, people still have a wide range of food choices available, in turn meaning it is possible for them to overeat and become obese. What this means is that banning advertising cannot address this issue completely. Secondly, the countries should invariably raise people’s awareness of having a healthy diet instead of banning ads. Chocolate cream cakes ads, for instance, very tempting dessert advertisements, attract many people to try them, especially for children. As such, parents can teach their children the drawback of eating them too much and look after their diets, which is ultimately why overeating is largely depends on personal eating habits.

In conclusion, I think that, although banning certain food advertisements should be one of ways to reduce overeating problem, more effective measures can be taken to tackle it.