Research shows that overeating can be as harmful as smoking. Thus the advertising of certain food products should be banned, as that of cigar is banned in many countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that eating too much and smoking have detrimental effects on health. In many nations, the governments have banned cigar advertisements, some people suggest certain food advertising should be forbidden as well. In this essay, I will outline why I disagree with this to some extent.

I concede that there could be reasons why banning some particular food ads and perhaps the obvious one is that those products may well be much less exposed to consumers. By doing so, the countries can enable citizens to have less access to unhealthy food sources and this potentially leads to people turning to nutritional diet options and consequently increasing the likelihood of them staying healthy., Binglang, For instance, a traditional Taiwan snack having some ingredients which are harmful to eye sights, has its advertisements being banned for several years in Taiwan. As such, this snack has been much less popular among the majority of consumers, which means it prevents people from eating unhealthily.

Nevertheless, I feel that it is unnecessary to forbid the advertising of certain food. Firstly, food ads do not typically result in overeating and other problems. When the governments ban these ads, people still have a wide range of food choices available, thereby meaning it remains possible for them to favor other unhealthy food containing high levels of sugar and fat. What this shows is that banning advertising cannot address this issue completely. Instead, the countries should invariably raise people’s awareness of maintianing a healthy diet instead of banning ads. Chocolate cream cakes ads, for instance, very tempting dessert advertisements, attract many people, especially the children, to try their flavour. As such, parents should teach their children the drawbacks of consuming these kinds of junk food excessively and look after their diets, which is ultimately why overeating is largely depends on personal dietary habits.

In conclusion, I think that, although banning certain food advertisements should be one of ways to reduce overeating problem, more effective measures can be taken to tackle it.