Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it has been increasingly asserted that national finance should be spent on the construction of accommodations and roads in place of the maintenance of outdated sites due to their extravagance. The essay below will take this viewpoint into consideration and explain the author’s partial disapproval of it.

On the one hand, it is true that the shift of the usage of tax money to building new facilities for living and moving can deliver economic fruition. To rationalize this, the booming growth of big cities is giving rise to the demand for housing and transport. Therefore, since outdated structures might take up an extraneously large space, reasonable destruction of them might not only save the expenses for maintenance but also make way for the construction of modern facilities, meeting residents' needs and producing more profit. However, it should be noted that not all aged structures can be replaced, especially those linked with the past and culture. After all, it is clear that skyscrapers and highways are common between nations in the contemporary era, while heritages and legacies are symbolic of each.

On the other hand, I strongly opine that the abolition of historical buildings could severely damage the cultural preservation of humankind. To be specific, it takes only observation to notice that a sizeable number of old structures bring time-honored meanings or values that symbolize their location zones. If these are demolished, not only could humans forget about their pasts and origins but also would countries fail to keep their cultural pulchritude, thus leading to the loss of the uniqueness of tribes and peoples, All in all, it is ill-advised to abandon or replace historical constructions for the sake of urbanization because it is the national identity and image that could be in jeopardy.

In light of the aforementioned evidence, it is my conclusion that national money should be spent on the refurbishment of significant heritages as well as managing the establishment of new living and transport facilities. While it is true that some can be annihilated, government intervention is necessary to ascertain that the destruction does no harm to cultural preservation.