Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because an immense amount of national funds are needed in order to restore infrastructure in central areas, some people are of the opinion that this money should be more well-spent if it is directed towards constructing new buildings and roads. In my opinion, it is best that government expenditure be allocated equally both to new and old infrastructure.

On the one hand, antique buildings are very valuable to the cities’ overall ambience, and they contribute greatly to the tourism of these areas. In Vietnam, Hoi An, a hotspot for international tourism, is well-known for its traditional atmosphere and its ancient style of architecture. Without the restoration of these infrastructure, Hoi An would lose its attraction and value, leading to a decrease in tourists. Not only do they serve as tourism attractions, old constructions can also reflect the nation’s culture, as well as its history. A lot of rundown buildings in Vietnam are a legacy from our ancestors who have fought for the nation’s freedom, and they are proof of Vietnamese people’s courage. Therefore, it is important that these legacy be restored and upheld for future generations to remember.

On the other hand, contemporary buildings are crucial to the cities’ urban development and technological advancement. Cities’ population is increasing at dramatic rates, and along with that are rising demands for transportation, education, and entertainment. Infrastructure such as roads, bridges, universities, cinemas and shopping malls which are built with state of the art technology can help raise citizens’ living standards, giving them a more comfortable and happy life. In addition, companies and businesses tend to select new buildings to base their office, as these locations provide ideal working conditions for their employees. Therefore, recently developed infrastructure can contribute greatly to employment rates and the national economy.

In conclusion, there should be a balance between government’s funding allocation for both antique buildings and future urban developments.