Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern day and age, youngsters are spending more time watching television and playing video games. Opinions are divided on whether or not this phenomenon are advantageous for children’s psychology. In my opinion, this trend poses many risks for children’s mental health, and it can lead to a lot of negative effects on their development.

First of all, the contents on TV and video games may be unsuitable and may negatively affect children’s perspective and mindset. When kids see something they enjoy on the screen, they have the tendency to replicate those activities, no matter how dangerous or harmful doing so may be. Furthermore, it is nearly impossible for parents to control what their kids are watching everyday, due to the vast amount of content on multiple platforms such as Tiktok and Youtube. For example, a few years ago, it has been reported that dozens of children tried to harm themselves after following the Blue Whale Challenge that at the time was being advocated by their favourtie YouTubers. The challenge got more challenging and dangerous as kids advanced to the next stage, and involved activities such as “cutting yourself” or “jumping from the stairs”. The impacts of these contents can be long-lasting and traumatizing for youngsters. At these ages, children fail to realize that not all people on the Internet are good, and some may take advantage of their vulnerability and naivety for profit.

Second of all, spending too much time on TV and video games can hinder kids from completing their academic duties. It is clear that at a young age, doing well at school should be the top priority. However, children may become so engrossed in entertainment that they forget to complete their homework, or even try to skip school to stay home and play games. Not only will this affect their grades, but concerns from parents and teachers may put additional pressure on them to catch up with their peers. Failing to balance between relaxation and school, the mental health of these children will plummet, leading to issues such as depression or anxiety.

Lastly, the absence of limits on screen time can prevent children from socializing with others. Interacting with friends are a great way to relieve stress and help kids develop long-lasting friendships. However, a lot of youngsters would rather stay home on their electronic devices than go out with their peers. This will not only separate them from others, but also hinder their communcation abilities. Studies have shown that children who have few friends in their youth have an increased 30% chance of developing anxiety when they grow older. This is an alarming consequence that digital entertainment such as TV and video games entails.

In conclusion, I believe that even though TV and video games are good ways for children to have fun, it is not advisable that youngsters spend too much time on these platforms. Without proper restrictions, kids can be exposed to harmful contents, fall behind their classmates or struggle in social interactions.