In recent years, there has been a widespread debate over whether governments in various parts of the world should invest in the maintenance of archaic buildings. Some people argue that this enormous expenditure will bring considerable benefits to society if reasonably used for building new houses and roads. However, I strongly disagree with this idea to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, it is incumbent upon a government to spend a fixed budget on the renovation of old buildings, for they are of cultural and historical significance. For example, the Great Wall in Beijing is of paramount importance to all Chinese. Not only does this architectural heritage remind people of their history and culture but it also represents the pride and strength of Chinese people. Since the cultural and historical significance embedded in old architecture cannot be superseded by new infrastructure such as houses and roads, it is reasonable for a government to fund the protection of derelict buildings for the benefit of its people.

In addition, old edifices are an important source of revenue for local residents. Well-preserved historical buildings appeal to both domestic and international tourists who spend a significant amount of money on guides and local products, thus initiating a growth in tourism and stimulating local economy. Moreover, the influx of tourists generates significant employment in that area, which in turn increases both the local inhabitants’ income and the government’s tax revenue. Therefore, the renovation of old buildings is a feasible strategy employed to increase people’s economic benefits.

To recapitulate, the idea that government revenues used for the construction of new houses and roads would bring more benefits is completely preposterous. The restoration of old buildings is extremely crucial from the cultural, historical and economic perspective. Though the governments need to invest in new houses and roads, they should not compromise the funds reserved for old structures.