Tourism industry throughout the world is concerned with investment in new avenues such as roads and modern buildings as well as rehabilitation of old edifices. I completely agree that authorities must preserve the old edifices as they are of immense cultural importance and also serve as a significant source of income for the government.

To begin with, historical structures are the face of any culture. To elaborate, it not only allows people to relate to their cultural identity but also provides them a chance to go back to their roots and explore their historical background. To exemplify, the taj mahal is such a monument which enables us to have an insight into the Mughal rule and the architecture it brought with it. Moreover, such an erection adds to the beauty of the environment and also acts as a recreational spot for the masses who can spend their time here for relaxing themselves from the stressful lives they lead.

Moving further, the renovation of an old edifice requires skilled craftsmen to be commissioned for the job which acts as an employment opportunity for them who otherwise would have either indulged in criminal activities or starved themselves. Furthermore, when the refurbishment of such a structure is complete, it acts as a humongous source of income for the government. To elaborate, if a restored building is opened for the public, the government can charge a certain amount of ticket fees and add to their wealth. To illustrate, over a year ago, the restoration of fort gobindgarh in Amritsar was completed and was opened for the public to visits at some price. This in turn, promotes tourism.

To conclude, the task of restoring old buildings should be undertaken but the government with full swing as it is extremely beneficial not only for the public but also for the government itself.