Rich countries often give financial aid to poor countries, but it does not solve the poverty, so rich countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than the financial aid.

Nowadays, developed countries are frequently giving monetary assistance to the low-income countries, whereas the direct financial support is already a proven ineffective approach which has been leading us to look for an efficient alternative mechanism. I strongly agree with this statement, and I believe that rich countries’ generous investment in poor nation’s public transportation and technical education would be a sustainable support to the least developed ones.

A nation’s overall economy vastly depends on its public transportation system which is directly connected to the productivity of the mass people of the country. We know that general people predominantly use public transports, such as bus, train etc. If these means are efficient enough, the commuters will need less travel time and save a significant number of productive hours, which will eventually benefit the overall national economy. Some of the mega cities in poor nations are also the worst in terms of traffic congestion with unplanned routs and outdated vehicles. In peak period of a day, commuters spend hours in traffic jam. If they could spend this amount of time at work, it would have been an incredible addition to the national economy.

In addition, rather than giving direct fund, proving proper technological training could be another effective help to the poor countries, because they need the advanced technical understandings to upgrade their industries and enhance their global competitiveness. In fact, only when a country can keep pace with the global competitiveness, it can get rid of the poverty trap. However, this assistance should be well studied. For instance, if a country has cheap labours, it should be provided with the labour-intensive industrial resources and trained with the relevant knowhows. As a result, the poor country would generate employment and rise with overall economic growth.

In conclusion, direct monetary grant might help an underdeveloped country only for a short term. When it is about a sustainable economic progress, along with proper investment in poor countries’ transportation system, developed nations should help them also with technical assistance aiming their industrial improvement.