Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve

poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor

countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is common for developed countries to give money to underdeveloped ones. However, financial aid itself is not enough to end poverty. Therefore, some people argue that other types of help should be given instead. This essay is to explain the reasons why I agree with this point of view.

First of all, education plays a crucial role in the development of a country, so one of the most effective ways to alleviate the poverty pressure is to promote education. It is uncontroversially true that well-educated human capital will lift a nation out of poverty. For that reason, wealthy countries can help lay the foundation of a sustainable, knowledge-based economy in impoverished countries by awarding scholarships to the talent.

In addition, solving the poverty puzzle requires dealing with environmental problems. A booming economy almost always coincides with pollution. Technology transfer is being conducted at the expense of the environment. Land, water, and air have been contaminated to the point of no return due to excessive industrial activities. Pollution-related illnesses lead to reduced workability, costly medical expenses will burden the healthcare system and deplete the national budget. Therefore, rich governments should help drive the transition to green technology in the third world. It will prevent industrialization from inflicting further damage on the ecosystem, thus improving public health and increasing labor productivity.

In conclusion, although money can relieve urgent, temporary difficulties, combating poverty is a long-term process. That underlines the need of more sustainable assistance to third-world nations.