The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it cannot be denied that the development of convenience foods plays an essential role in bringing people closer to the present-day pace of life. There are certainly some positive as well as negative outcomes to this scenario, however, it is my belief that the effects have been, on the whole, more advantageous.

A crucial award in the expenditure of ready-made food is consumers’ diversified experience. The booming market of this kind of product grants customers with multiform foods ranging from regional origin, preciosity, packaging to prices; hence, purchasers can choose any type to their taste. An excellent example would be Timor Leste, a developing country with a limited volume of foreign chefs, has provided its people with processed victuals from more than one hundred nations by its import strategy. Already prepared foods are also highly promising in terms of convenience and comfort due to its easy access and time-saving feature. At all hours of the day or night, people can buy processed foods whether at a street corner, a local delivery van or at an eight-till-late mini-supermarket, and they can instantly cook with ease. A recent survey at Cambridge University found that convenience foods save people in UK 65% of cooking time compared to self-prepared one.

On the other hand, the growing consumption of fast food could make people weak from lack of sustenance since a great deal of carbohydrates and fats are contained. Nevertheless, the buoyant market of convenience foods has brought about an improvement in aliment quality, particularly better food value with more essential nutrients and roughage, which provides a more balanced diet for consumers. To illustrate this case, a report of the Vietnamese Ministry of Industry and Trade in 2019 stated that the processed foods industry recorded more than 30% of the enterprises trading in organic and fresh convenient foods.

All above points considered, it is therefore safe to say that the great vague of already-made foods, which leads to diversity in customers’ experience, ease of use and access, obviously prevails the flawed argument on health problem.