With the rise of e-books comes to the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The technology advancement providing books in digital forms has given a new experience in the reading book. This essay will discuss the convenience of using the e-book to enjoy reading and the piracy problem which inevitably entailed its favourable advantage.

Never before has read a book provided more convenience and pleasure. Since it is integrated on digital life experience, this electronic product offers more flexibility both in using and purchasing it. People can adjust the book viability and appearance conveniently. If they want to buy a new one, they just need to visit the online store, such as Alibaba or eBay store, that provide a million number of books purchasable directly without leaving home. This online service support results in more enjoyable reading experience using e-book than the non-electronic version of it.

In spite of flexibility, the piracy matter has been a concern for both writer and publisher of the e-book. The digitalised form makes it easier to be copied and transferred to others without purchasing the book from the publisher. A 2014 study from Bookworld Organization revealed that a vast majority of e-book owners got the electronic book without spending any dollars to the writers. They got the e-books either from their colleagues or freely downloaded e-book websites. This illegal way of obtaining copyrighted text seems to reduce the income of book’s owners and distributors.

As a conclusion, the e-book has offered us the more enjoyable reading activity by its flexibility while the piracy problem shows us the need of respect for book owners. Thus, I firmly believe that the best way to enjoy reading e-books is to purchase them legally from any authorised stores.