A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference causes? How might these problems be reduced?

Living Standard Inequality between urban areas and rural ones has been highlighted as an emerging issue in recent decades, sparking significant public controversy. However, identifying problems ensuing could be the key to finding solutions.

Living standard differences could be fraught with many negative ramifications. First, a country’s better living standards are invariably associated with economic advancements, achieved by the proliferation of industrial parks, which would usually installed into rural areas rather than urban ones. This means that rural citizens would be susceptible to the increased concentration of exhausted fumes stemming from these manufacturing factories, leveling their vulnerabilities to airborne diseases such as lung cancer and tuberculosis. Second, due to governmental budget disbursements and foreign investments, cities have become an employment hub, attracting an enormous number of rural citizens, migrating for better occupational prospects. Subsequently, workforce in countryside regions have been underqualified because of brain drain, making the rise of unemployment proportions of these areas an inevitable product.

However, official authorities could take steps to address these issues. First, in order to reduce the micro particles from industrial factories inhaled daily by rural citizens, official authorities should legislate the imposition of carbon tax. By setting specific taxation levels based on each amount of carbon emitted, factories would think twice before releasing carelessly due to the financial burdens they incur, thereby reversing the environmental deterioration. In addition, if governments could channel the foreign investments and public budget into rural areas, employment opportunities could be generated. For example, Vietnamese countryside regions have received significant monetary injections from many international corporations thanks to government policies, leading to the booming of service and business sectors, reducing unemployment rates considerably in these regions.

In conclusion, this inequality pattern could cause both environmental and occupational issues. However, by better government policies, these problems could be combatted easily.