A rise in the standard of living in country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas.

What problems might this difference cause?

How might these problems be reduced?

Many countries have become more affluent in the past decade or two, although this has disproportionally tended to advantage cities, while leaving country areas deprived. This causes a number of issues, though some solutions might also be suggested.

There a number of difficulties caused by differences in prosperity levels in a country. A rush to urban areas is one of these, exacerbating difficulties in rural areas while putting pressure on cities' infrastructure. Valuable regional industries and agriculture may be left to wither and unemployment in cities may grow, possibly corresponding with greater crime levels. The development of a two-speed economy may also increase feelings of resentment, envy and social division. This is particularly so in the country, where unemployment may additionally lead to depression and substance abuse.

These problems can be mitigated through government-led action. Regional development schemes can encourage businesses to invest in rural areas and improve infrastructure in these places. Education is one particular area where a difference can be made. Mandated minimum wages can also reduce the attractions of high city salaries, since the same basic pay will be available nationwide. Finally, the tourism potential of country areas can be exploited more fully by using suitable publicity campaigns, bringing income to depressed regions.

In conclusion, the unfortunate disparities between rural poverty and metropolitan affluence result in a number of problems. Nevertheless, these can be addressed through a series of measures. Hopefully these can bring about greater equality for people living in different areas of the same country.