A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Nowadays, cities are receiving more benefits than rural regions from the increase in living conditions in a nation. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the problems this situation entails, and how it might be resolved. In this essay I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions.

To begin with, in regard to problems, there is no doubt that city authorities may face larger difficulties in managing the whole city. Since better conditions there may be more likely to attract more residents from the countryside, the city government may have a greater deal of trouble in keeping order for there may be larger population. In addition, the unbalance in living conditions between the city and the countryside may give rise to labor shortage in the rural areas, with fewer people engaging in agricultural activities when farmers are pouring into the city.

On the other hand, as to solutions, the government should improve the living standards in the countryside, since better living standards may prevent some of the farmers from moving out. A good case in point is that advanced medical services or college education may encourage the local people to stay when they are sick or plan to go to college. Also, the government should create more job opportunities for the native people in the poor areas, for this can allow them to earn the same amount of money as they do in the city.

To summarize, there is no doubt that the disparity in living standards between towns and remote places may result in crowded cities and labor shortage in a country. At the same time, however, two solutions can be effective against these issues. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that a country can be considered developed only when everyone there can equally enjoy economic benefits.